The winners have been announced for the Children’s Book Council of Australia 2015!

Congratulations to all the talented Australian authors and illustrators.  For the full shortlist click here to read.

Winner: Book of the Year Older Readers

The Protected by Claire Zorn (University of Queensland Press)

(Read my review HERE)

Honour Books: Older Readers

Nona & Me by Clare Atkins (Black Inc.)


The Minnow by Diana Sweeney (Text Publishing)

The Minnow

Winner: Book of the Year Younger Readers

The Cleo Stories: The Necklace and the Present by Libby Gleeson Illus. Freya Blackwood (Allen & Unwin)


Honour Books: Younger Readers

Two Wolves by Tristan Bancks (Random House Australia)

Two Wolves

Withering-by-Sea: a Stella Montgomery Intrigue by Judith Rossell (Harper Collins Australia)


Winner: Book of the Year Early Childhood

Go to Sleep, Jessie! by Libby Gleeson Illus: Frey Blackwood (Little Hare, Hardie Grant Egmont)

Jessie sleep

Honour Books: Early Childhood

Scary Night by Lesley Gibbes: Illus: Stephen Michael King (Working Title Press)

Scary night

Noni the Pony Goes to the Beach by Alison Lester (Allen & Unwin)

Noni the pony

Winner: Picture Book of the Year

My Two Blankets: Illus: Freya Blackwood Text: Irena Kobald (Little Hare, Hardie Grant Egmont)


Honour Books: Picture Book

One Minute’s Silence: Illus: Michael Camilleri Text: David Metzenthen (Allen & Unwin)

one minutes silence

The Stone Lion: Illus: Ritva Voutila Text: Margaret Wild

the stone lion

Winner: Eve Pownall Award for Information Books

A–Z of Convicts in Van Diemen’s Land by Simon Barnard (Text Publishing)

AZ Convicts

Honour Books: Eve Pownall Award for Information

Tea and Sugar Christmas by Jane Jolly Illus. Robert Ingpen (National Library of Australia)

Tea and sugar

Audacity: Stories of Heroic Australians in Wartime by Carlie Walker (Department of Veterans’ Affairs)


For more information:  The Children’s Book Council of Australia – Engaging the community with literature for young Australians. 

Comments are closed.